Change as a Necessity

by Maricel

Change is inevitable. But to attain the kind of change you want, you need to execute and sustain several minute and bigger leaps that would take you to that desired end.

My nightly routines, even if I feel terribly wasted, pre-wire my mind to look forward to the next day. Nights are good for contemplation so I make use of it to reassess how the day went and what things I can do to change outcomes, if not create circumstances.

Normally, I’d reach home from work at 8:30-9:00 in the evening. That is an hour earlier than the previous year (and the years before that) after I discovered a new travel route going home. Although my travel cost is up by 71% compared before, the benefits of being able to get home early far outweigh the cost I bear now. Today, I am able to do things I find hard before to upkeep— I still can study after dinner for an hour, read news for 20 minutes and check social media for 10 minutes. The difference starkly contrasts with how I wasted my time before—spending majority of it on social media checking my friends on Facebook, even until past 11 in the evening. It was an addiction. I am changing this now because I realize there is so much more I can do with the little time I have and I need to start changing things right away. We are all gonna die somehow and if I won’t change things, I’d end up a loser. This, at the expense of losing connection with some close friends who I am only able to connect through social media.

It is hard to cut an addiction and anyone who has gone through it in any sort would know this. I am doing everything I can to persist even if the odds are so great and overwhelming. I skip for days on end without checking my social media unless there are messages that needs to be replied to. And I made a vow not to check anything unless I am already finished with my study sessions for that night. Even if my body wanted to quit due to fatigue, I try harder now to persist to finish some courses… and resist having to find excuses for not doing things.

Upon waking up at 3:30-4:00 in the morning, I’d say an appreciation prayer for being able to withstand the previous day and an affirmation that whatever comes my way today, I will grow through it. I’d make my bed and then do some exercise for 30 minutes. I am not sure if this is enough to keep me fit but I strive to do yoga and aerobics every morning. I study again for 30 minutes and hit the shower at 4:30. At 5:15 in the morning, I’d walk to the highway to catch the earliest bus bound for SM City. During these hours, while walking on the dark street alone, thoughts would race through my mind if this is all worth the hard work I do everyday. That while most people are still drooling in their bed, I am already facing the day head on, mustering my courage while being catcalled by total strangers.

If I could catch the earliest bus and I am lucky to get a vacant seat, I’d get a book and read. I don’t have much time to read books now due to the tight schedule I have, so I have to squeeze it in while I travel to work. With my routine everyday, I knew I need to find ways to disconnect from the world even for a few minutes. Reading a book while listening to videos like the one below helped me forget the kind of life I have while still keeping myself in sync with my goals.

Starting last November, I have tried to get to work as early as I could, experimenting on different routes to escape the heavy traffic (If only I have a jetpack, I’d happily fly everyday to work). Sometimes I’d reach Woven an hour earlier than our office hour so I still have time to study again and read news. Even if it’s physically draining, I feel good doing this. If I am going to subject myself to physical torture, I’d rather spend it doing worthwhile things that truly helps me grow as a person. If I have to give up nap time or cut my sleeping hours, I would give it up for the right reason.

These are minute changes and endeavors I am battling with everyday to upkeep. About 2 years ago, I cut down on meat intake and unhealthy foods by 95% and I did it in an instant. Truly, if you wire your mind towards achieving something and you act on that, anything is possible. With the right frame of mind and a clear execution plan, I know I can do the same with achieving my other goals. Change habits where necessary.

I have a very busy life but I’m loving it! I used to say before that I’d give up my career as I could no longer perform my best due to the extent of multi-tasking I juggle everyday which had caused me burnout and de-motivation. I had the worst struggle last year. But years and months later, I am still juggling my load trying to sustain the supply chain operation and making decisions how to address and sort out problems my department face everyday. The difference now? I look at these challenges in a positive light. The affirmation and commendation from the bosses about the quality of work I do did gave me more confidence and drive to push myself a little harder. Everything that I learn from my career now will eventually help me build my character as a professional and as a person. I do everything I can to learn and do new things that will create value for my department and the organization I worked for. I need to be the best in what I do. If in the future I decide to let go, leaving a good track record and a sustainable supply chain operation are the only legacy I could leave for my successors to keep.

I work  hard because that is how I was build. If you have parents like mine, it is impossible not to be a workhorse yourself. I thank them for who I am. I thank the people who have inspired me through the years. I thank those whom I draw inspirations from today. I thank the people who had been instrumental to my growth, even if the growth had been built up through pain. I believed that being appreciative helps us with having positive outlook. I kept a list things to do every night (just in case I suddenly suffer amnesia) and one thing in that list is to make at least one person happy… or thank a random person for just being here today. That is before I go to bed. So if you haven’t gotten yours yet, trust that I am almost there. 🙂

“I am convince that the only thing that keeps me going is that I love what I did. You’ve got to find what you love. And that is true for work as it is for you lovers. Your work is gonna fill a large part of your life and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you truly believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking and don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you will know when you find it. Like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking. Don’t settle.” ~Steve Jobs 

Here is a Facebook post I wrote about a week ago for myself. I have read it everyday just to remind myself that there is a reason for why I am doing this.

Pain is temporary, greatness is eternal. Whatever you go through today, whether it’s breaking or making you, grow through it. Pain is there not to break us down and tear us apart but to build us, to make us stronger and wiser than we have ever been.

Believe in your limitless potential to be who you want to be, and you will get there. Wire your thoughts to sync with your words because the latter oftentimes end up becoming your own reality. Never stop dreaming but also, never ever stop working for your dreams. Your dreams should lead you up into where you want to go. If you dream of becoming the best person you want to be, then start building yourself to be the greatest version of yourself. If you dream to revolutionize the world, then gear yourself up to execute and act on changing things. It doesn’t matter whether you start with minute changes. Work your way up with no excuses. Gear yourself up to win. The difference between winners and losers is that, winners execute, even if they don’t feel like it. Even if they only have an hour of sleep the other night, they would pursue the day with fortitude and courage because they knew, every little thing matters, every little action counts towards achieving a goal. Winners find ways and work things out to change the status quo, to defy the norm, to better things. They do the 60-minute routine everyday without ceasing. They never lose focus. Losers, well, they have insurmountable excuses for not doing things.

Give up something for the right reasons—sleep, entertainment and social media, toxic people and relationships, negativities, environment that’s crippling you—if the need be. Stop whining and instead, do what needs to be done to change your current state. Do not be afraid to start over after you let go of those that hinder your full potential. You can make it. You and I and them, have gone this far. There shouldn’t be anything that should stop us. Nothing.

Remember, those people who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do. Dream, believe, execute, work hard, work harder, work hardest. If you fail, then get up, dust yourself off and move forward. We are innately built to last, to endure, to leap beyond our own limitations, so be the best version of yourself—for yourself and for those who continuously believe in you. No one is going to make things for you. No one is going to fight to make your dreams a reality except you. So start being responsible for your life, for your choices, for your actions. For your dreams. Say this every day if you will— I am strong, I am able, I am a beautiful person, I have all the potential to be who I want to be and I will make my dreams come true because, I believe in me. Yes, I believe in me!

I may seem to have forgotten to mention how my weekend is spent. But anyway, I’d keep that a secret because it will definitely bore the hell out of you and I dread doing that to my readers. 🙂

So to end this post, here is a motivational video to awaken your inner warrior. Watch and listen until the end and I promise, this is gonna be worth your time. If you think otherwise, hit my mailbox and I’ll send you another.

