Look, stop and listen!

by Maricel

I wish I wouldn’t be the one affirming this, but I’ll keep modesty aside and for once acknowledge myself as a listener. I’ve always believed that every person born in this planet falls to a certain class of a co-existing role, that of being a listener or a talker. Certain elements and factors could affect someone’s ability of being a good listener or a good talker and whichever category one may fall into, his interactions with other people are governed by what role the person has been made to portray.

Code Talker

Code Talker (Photo credit: Chris Corrigan)

Dropping by at Random Olio’s post Do You Listen 100%?., a realization came to mind about what category I could count myself to suit into and how I was shaped by the role I’ve played.

Fortunately, my being a listener in a way aided me to become who I am now. I am who I am because I have been an intent listener, and anyone who knew me can attest to that (or I can force one to make the attestation). Not that I hate talking or something. It’s just that it feels good when I listen to people and feels way better to let them feel that I am listening. I get amazed about other people’s views and opinions so much. Plus, the learning that comes from listening is  more than fulfilling. It’s unimaginably emotionally moving.

Being a listener cannot be achieved overnight though. It is, nevertheless a long process which sometimes demands genuine self-examination to grasp fully how it is and what it means to be a mere listener and why it’s important to stay as such.

Wanting out a proof as to my being a listener, I tried out Quibblo’s “Are you a talker or a listener test” and here’s my result. Notice that I intend to have my proof derived from a third-party entity (if you can call a personality examination site as one) to prevent impartiality.

You are deff. a listener. You like to talk and share your opinion  sometimes, but you rather listen to what others have to say. When something is bother a friend, your always the first person they go to so they can let things out and for advice. (that your good at giving!) You are always concerned about the people you care about, and always know what somethings up with them. You also listen to everyones problems, even when your not in he best mood. Sometimes you tend to keep things inside though. Try letting things out and talk to someone when somethings bothering you. This may build up stress. Next time somethings wrong, talk to a close friend or a family member, they won’t mind trying to help you out. After all, your always there for them!

And oh, I don’t mind if the site isn’t legit to conduct such test or if it doesn’t proofread nor check its contents before publishing (not that I try to make excuses on the site’s behalf for the lack of using any proofreading tool. Hihi!) because that would be beyond the context of this post since I’m only after here for the proof. Ha!

Being a listener nonetheless is a self-gratifying task that propels learning of others and of yourself but it may also has its negative impact. Stress! Because of the role you play as the listener, most often you end up being overly affected by what others has to say and share to you. Trust me, I’ve been through a lot of mess because of trying out fixing other people’s mess and minding their problems as if they’re my own. It sometimes becomes ugly and physically exhausting to allow something like that to alter your mood and disposition when at the beginning they do it unintentionally not thinking that it will have a bearing on you at all. Thus, you can forgive them on sharing their frustrations, hopes, joys or more specifically their lives since it is done unconsciously if not for the end alone of sharing it to someone in the hope that they will be listened to, consoled or empathized…if not by a fellow talker, then most probably by a listener.


Related articles
