Remembering the Icon: Steve Jobs (1955- 2011)

by Maricel

Upon opening Facebook, I browse my News Feed and this is what I first saw from Arianna Huffington’s post, a quote from the Apple Founder Steve Jobs. “Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose”, (posted probably around half past eight this morning, Philippine Time).

As I read the post, something came through my mind however I just shrugged it off. Impossible I thought. Well maybe not really impossible, but not as early as this.

Steve Jobs at the WWDC 07

Image via Wikipedia

I continue browsing down till I saw Paul Carduner and Mark Zuckerberg posting deep sympathies and appreciation to Steve and his contribution to the Technology industry. And there it was confirmed. Steve Jobs is dead. The Apple Founder and Board of Director has succumb to a rare form of pancreatic cancer at the age of 56.

Jobs, although a drop- out of Reed College in Oregon started what the rest of the world would never have had imagined. At the age of 21, Steve Jobs co-founded Apple Computer in 1976. Together with his childhood friend Steve Wozniak, he marketed what was considered the world’s first personal computer, the Apple II. Became a multimillionaire at the age of 25 and in the following year appeared in the cover of Time Magazine. However in 1984, Jobs who was 30, was ousted from Apple and founded NeXT computers and bought the  computer graphics arm of Lucasfilm, Ltd, which became Pixar Animation Studios.

Because of Apple’s struggling revenue, Jobs was reunited once again with the company he founded. He was brought back to Apple after the company bought NeXT and in 1997  was named the company’s CEO.

Jobs’ health somehow is interwoven with Apple’s success. And this has been evident every time Mr. Jobs went on a medical leave. Although Tim Cook was there as the hands-on Manager/ Chief Lieutenant to oversee the company while Jobs was out, his undeniable presence and influence over big decisions to make made it possible for the company to survive the stiff competition in the Technology market.

I never had a romance with any of Apple’s products. And not that I did not like it, I just don’t feel the desire to try it as I was not, and never been a technology freak. Nevertheless, despite my ignorance over Mr. Job’s creations, I do feel he was a man worth to be respected and adored for his creative genius.

Not all the times the world will come across with someone whose ingenuity surpasses that of most people, and for that alone, Mr. Jobs is aptly remembered.

It’s barely two months since Jobs’ resignation as Apple’s CEO in Aug. 24, 2011. Yet, Mr. Jobs had already lost his battle.

You will read the following on Apple’s webpage:

“Apple has lost a visionary and creative genius, and the world has lost an amazing human being. Those of us who have been fortunate enough to know and work with Steve have lost a dear friend and an inspiring mentor. Steve leaves behind a company that only he could have built, and his spirit will forever be the foundation of Apple.”

And he shall be. Rest in peace Mr. Jobs!

