St. Therese of Lisieux: The Little Flower’s Feast Day

by Maricel

Oct. 1 is the Feast Day of St. Therese of Lisieux (1873-1897) or to some St. Therese of the Child Jesus and of the Holy Face. A Carmelite Nun. The Doctor of Confidence and Missionaries. The Youngest and one of the Three Women Doctor of the Church (along with St. Catherine of  Sienna and St. Teresa of Avila). The Little Flower of Jesus.

My journey with St. Therese started when I came to cross on the Web a video in honor of her. And I have the account of that encounter in the previous post I have here.

Saint Thérèse at age 15, before entering the C...

Image via Wikipedia

After my renewal in 2009, there came such a deep desire to know my Faith by heart and that includes knowing the martyrs of the past. Little by little as the days and months passed, that desire continued to burn. So overpowering that I did everything I can to know why God endowed on me the gift of my Faith. I did learn a lot and the vast majority of it came from the people I met on the cyberspace. An extraordinary encounter of downright religious people from various Catholic sites who has been my inspiration to continue what I’ve started.

Now, at more than a couple of years as a renewed person, St. Therese along with other saints whom I ask intercession from, serves as my motivation to keep aspiring to be good. My little efforts, however small if done out of Love and with love counts as much as the greatest feat of men. If I can do things as selfless and pure as that of a child, there shall awaits for me the gift of the kingdom of God.

Christian life is nothing other than living as a child of the Father (“as sons in the Son”), starting at Baptism and continued in absolute trust. “If you do not become like little children, you will not enter the Kingdom of Heaven”, says Jesus (Mt 18:3).

A few days from now, on the 19th of October the world will commemorate the fourteen years of  St. Therese’s proclamation as a Doctor of the Church done by the late Blessed John Paul II in St. Peter’s Square. Another grace-filled day to look forward to and celebrate with the Little Flower.

