Our Deepest Fear (Marriane Williamson)

by Maricel

Somehow this poem serves as a personal reminder for me not to be taken aback by my diffidence which for most times has curtailed my capacity to become the person I should have allowed myself  to become, to get out from the shell which has concealed me for a long time which thus resulted to me not getting the enough personal, emotional and spiritual growth needed to become a more well- rounded individual. Because as the poem goes, who am I not to feel good about WHO I am, when I am ” a child of God“?

Shortly, the poem talks of letting oneself free from the bondage of self- imposed constraints that hinders one from letting her light shine so one would be able to soar the horizon of uncharted summit wherever life may take him to.

Our Deepest Fear
___________________________________________________

Marriane Williamson

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.
Your playing small does not serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
We are all meant to shine, as children do.
We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.
And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.
As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

